My name is Jacob, and I am 24 years of age.
I have a daughter Chelsea and my partner, Amanda.
I am two years post spinal cord injury.

My journey so far has been a wild one. I have used a few techniques to help me get through some of the most challenging time, such as using elements of mindfulness that I particularly like to help manage chronic pain. I try and push myself out of my comfort zone, and I’m often surprised by the outcomes that follow.

I believe in going to the gym often, and the gym has aided and supported my recovery. It allowed me to be who I want to be, giving me the incentive to look after my physical health and mental health well being.

Being in touch with my mental health and well being has given me the strength and determination to understand and help others going through a similar process as myself.

I strive to reach out to everyone regardless of their age, sexuality, race, gender, and origin and to be able to embrace diversity to its fullest.

I am currently at University, and my goal is to pursue Occupational Therapy. I have seen from my own experience the importance of Occupational Therapy.

Besides my gym interests, I enjoy making and creating textiles, music, movies, learning Mandarin and cooking great food! I consider myself as an advocate for mental health. I encourage anyone I meet to take the step and visit your local gym and see for yourself what it has to offer. I am sure you will be amazed to find how accomodating and supportive it will be and how you as an individual will find a pathway that is suited to your needs…Believe me..the gym was the frontrunner in my road to recovery, and I am just so glad that I had this option to support me. I have never looked back.